21st Century Living.

Standard

For anyone who is musically savvy, the title is a song-title. Also just a daily phrase, but I feel it applies especially today as I have been trying to implement a day of fasting similar to what my ancestors would have experienced. Basically yesterday, I downloaded the 5:2 diet to my Kindle, as like every other woman out there, I’m always trying to find the magical fix to make the pounds drop off (not that I’ve been trying very hard at all lately to diet, but after realising that last year’s ski trousers are a bit of a squeeze and a once (fairly) loose-fitting shirt is stretching to button up, I think it’s about high time I find that once and for all solution.

I liked the sound of the fasting 2 days a week approach, as my general approach to life its very much all or nothing, and so if for just 2 days a week I can scrape by on 500 calories ( I think that’s approx. what I have consumed today) and eat as I please the rest of the time, it might just be the key to actually sticking with something.

I know it’s all very boring and typical of me to write a post about diets, but hey, you’re here and reading, it’s a personal blog so here’s a personal detail of my life. 

So here are the goals. See if I can make it through next Monday and the following Thursday on 500 calories and again for the next forseeable months, whilst eventually fitting back into my ski trousers, and maybe some that are a few sizes smaller.

Watch this space. 

2 responses »

  1. I’ve also downloaded a 5:2 app after it being recommended by my doctor, but I’m grumpy when I don’t eat and I tend to fast too many days resulting in metabolism slowing down even more! So I downloaded MyFitnessPal to work out how many calories I needed to eat in order to lose weight and it really helps to keep track of what I’m eating, be it too little or too much. I suggest you get that an’ all if you haven’t already. It has lists of food and a bar code scanner so you can get quick nutritional value and calorie content and add it to your list. I also sync it to MapMyRun which calculates how many miles I walk/run/stumble and how many calories I’ve burnt so I can see results even if inches aren’t coming off straight away.

    Keep at it! You’re a warrior ;D xx

Leave a Reply

